On turning adversity into advantage with Professor Laura Huang

Edge in NYC

Join MBAchic & Harvard Business School Professor Laura Huang for a talk on turning adversity into advantage

The way we are working and engaging these days is certainly… different. These unprecedented times call for social distancing and looking out for each other — we are excited to infuse some normalcy into the week and bring you this event, virtually.

You might recognize Harvard Business School Professor Laura Huang from our recent Back to BSchool giveaway — she generously provided our winners a signed copy of her upcoming book Edge: Turning Adversity into Advantage published by Portfolio Books. This book shows that success is about gaining an edge: that elusive quality that gives you an upper hand and attracts attention and support. Some people seem to naturally have it, but Huang reveals that we actually can create our own, shaping the challenges and biases that we previously believe hold us back, to turn them into our strengths.

How do you find a competitive edge when the obstacles feel insurmountable? How do you get people to take you seriously when they’re predisposed not to, and perhaps have already written you off? Professor Huang has come up against that problem many times–and so has anyone who’s ever felt out of place or underestimated. Many of us sit back quietly, hoping that our hard work and effort will speak for itself. Or we try to force ourselves into the mold of who we think is “successful,” stifling the creativity and charm that makes us unique and memorable. This book discusses how to discover and own your uniqueness, leverage that as your strength, and keep it sharp.

Join us Thursday, March 19 at 3pm NY time as we talk about her new book and how to turn adversity into advantage – it certainly is a great time for this discussion. 

Register on Zoom.

12pm Los Angeles | 3pm New York | 7pm London | 8pm Zurich

Follow us for more on what to expect at our event on March 19: @MBAchicblog.

Check out MBAchic events and more (in NYC and beyond) on our new MBAchic global calendar (and submit your own events for inclusion!). Hope to see you there!

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases made through some of the links presented.

Related Articles